Commissioner photo October 2023

Note: Commissioner Sarah Wan is absent in the above photograph.

The Commission on the Environment sets policy for the Environment Department and advises the mayor and Board of Supervisors on environmental issues. Appointed by the mayor, the seven-member commission develops environmental policies and programs. The Commission meets at 5:00 PM on the fourth Monday of each month, except for February and December, when the Commission meets on the first Monday of the month, and January and November, when there is no Commission meeting. Meetings are held in City Hall, 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 408, unless otherwise noted. The Commission's Policy Committee and Operations Committee meet as needed in City Hall, Room 421, One Dr. Goodlett Jr. Place, San Francisco, CA 94102, unless otherwise noted. All meetings are open to the public.

Notice of training

Per Ordinance 71-19 (PDF), the following members of the Commission on the Environment have completed Implicit Bias training: Eddie Ahn (December 8, 2019), Elmy Bermejo (January 6, 2020), Austin Hunter (August 1, 2022), Mike Sullivan (December 6, 2019), Angelique Tompkins (November 21, 2023), and Sarah Ching Ting Wan (December 26, 2019). Environment Department Director Tyrone Jue completed Implicit Bias training on April 18, 2022.


Meeting archive

To contact the Commission on the Environment, please call (415) 355-3709 or email the Commission Affairs Officer at

Taskforce Members

Eddie Ahn (President)

Term: August 29, 2023 – March 25, 2027

Elmy Bermejo

Term: October 14, 2020 – October 14, 2024

Austin Hunter

Term: August 29, 2023 – March 25, 2027

Mike Sullivan

Term: August 29, 2023 – July 23, 2027

Angelique Tompkins

Term: September 23, 2023 – April 20, 2027

Sarah Ching-Ting Wan (Vice President)

Term: May 25, 2021 – May 11, 2025

Vince Yuen

Term: October 30, 2023 – March 10, 2027

Upcoming Meetings


February 5 2024 Commission on the Environment Meeting


March 25 2024 Commission on the Environment Meeting


April 22 2024 Commission on the Environment Meeting